Prestige, History & Tradition: Since 1955, Fonda Speedway’s ‘200’ A Motorsports Staple

FONDA, NYPrestige. History. Tradition.  

And now a HUGE payout.

Fonda Speedway – one of the most revered dirt tracks in the country – hosts its marquee event Thursday-Saturday Sept. 15-17 with the annual ‘Fonda 200’ weekend.

The ‘200’ dates back to 1955 and has evolved from its origin with the NASCAR Grand National Series to the current Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco sanction.

One aspect remains the same: drivers and fans flocking to Montgomery County, New York for the ‘200’ weekend.

Many of the sport’s most iconic names have etched their names in the ‘Fonda 200’ record books.

Brett Hearn leads all drivers with four ‘Fonda 200’ victories. The late Doug Hoffman boasts three wins in the 100-mile grind.

Six drivers have earned a pair of ‘200’ victories: Richard Petty, Jimmy Horton, Jack Johnson, Charlie Rudolph, Bob McCreadie and Stewart Friesen.

Single event winners include David Pearson, Bill Wimble, Harry Peek, Junior Johnson, Kenny Brightbill, Kenny Tremont, Lou Lazzaro, Mike Romano, Steve Danish and most recently Matt Sheppard, last year’s winner.

The largest winner’s share in Northeast Modified racing – with $53,000 going to the STSS Modified winner – is on the line in addition to valuable points toward both the Ollie’s ‘Elite Series’ and River Valley Builders North Region title fights.

Three days of racing are set for the famed Track of Champions leading up to the ‘200’ on Saturday night.

A complete information center is set up on the speedway website at:

Since 1953, the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing. Under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway will operate weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at To learn more, call the office at 518.915.4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook  or follow the speedway on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy or Instagram: @fondaspeedway.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloSports, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, BDR Speed, Halmar International, Ollie’s, River Valley Builders, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, St. Lawrence Radiology, Franklin Products, Design for Vision & Sunglass Central, Belmont’s Garage, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Prime MAC Tools, F.X. Caprara Car Companies, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, EIBACH, Elite Welder Testing & Training, Flach Performance Products, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Penske Racing Shocks, Schultz Racing Fuel Cells, Spyder Filters, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, Wegner Automotive & Wilwood.


Fonda 200 Event History

Fonda 200 Event Wins

4 – Brett Hearn

3 – Doug Hoffman

2 – Bob McCreadie, Charlie Rudolph, Jack Johnson, Jimmy Horton, Richard Petty & Stewart Friesen

1 – Bill Wimble, David Pearson, Harry Peek, Junior Johnson, Kenny Brightbill, Kenny Tremont, Lou Lazzaro, Mike Romano, Steve Danish & Matt Sheppard


Fonda 200 Event Winners

1955: Junior Johnson (NASCAR Grand National)

1963: Steve Danish

1964: Bill Wimble

1966: David Pearson (NASCAR Grand National)

1967: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)

1968: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)

1969: Lou Lazzaro

1970: Harry Peek

1983: Charlie Rudolph

1984: Jimmy Horton

1985: Charlie Rudolph

1986: Jack Johnson

1987: Kenny Brightbill

1988: Jack Johnson

1989: Mike Romano

1990: Doug Hoffman

1991: Doug Hoffman

1992: Bob McCreadie

1993: Bob McCreadie

1994: Jimmy Horton

1995: Brett Hearn

1997: Brett Hearn

1998: Brett Hearn

1999: Steve Paine

2000: Kenny Tremont

2001: Doug Hoffman

2002: Brett Hearn

2019: Stewart Friesen

2021: Stewart Friesen

2022: Matt Sheppard