Historic: Largest STSS Modified Cash Payout Ever – $151,340 – Up for Grabs at Fonda 200

FONDA, NY – For the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco, it’s an historic race week.

The largest pay structure ever offered for a series event will be distributed during the Fonda 200 weekend presented by Southside Beverage Sept. 16-18 at Fonda Speedway.

The STSS Fonda 200, part of the STSS Hurlock Auto & Speed Supply North Region, offers a base pay structure of $138,250 minimum for the ‘200’ starting field ($53,000 to win, $1,000 to start), with $2,500 allocated for B-Main competitors and another $10,590 for the ‘Underdog 33’ on Thursday night open to all drivers not having won a Modified feature at any venue in 2021.

The grand total – just for the Modifieds – during the ‘200’ weekend is $151,340 prior to any bonuses, special awards or contingencies.

The Saturday (Sept. 18) Fonda 200 itself pays $53,000 to the winner, $20,000 for second, $10,000 for third and a boosted $1,000 to take the green flag for the ’21 edition.

$2,500 will be distributed among non-qualifiers unable to transfer from Saturday’s B-Mains.

The Thursday night (Sept. 16) ‘Underdog 33’ rewards the winner with $2,000. Just taking the green in this event pays $200 cash.

Since the first Fonda 200 was contested in 1955 with legendary moonshiner turned NASCAR hero Junior Johnson taking the victory, 18 different drivers have registered a victory in the 200 along the banks of the Mohawk River.

On Thurs.-Sat. Sept. 16-18, history will be made again at the fairgrounds facility.

Three days of racing are set for the ’21 edition of the Fonda 200.

The action kicks off on Thursday, Sept. 16 with the Sunoco Modified ‘Underdog 33’ paying $2,000 to the winner for 33 laps. The ‘Underdog’ is open to any Modified driver without a feature win at any venue in 2021. All other divisions will take part in open practice on Thursday.

On Friday, Sept. 17, STSS Modifieds will take part in 15-lap qualifying events. Also on the Friday program are CRSA Sprint Cars, Algonkin Motel Pro Stocks ($1,000 to win), Street Stocks ($500 to win) and Fonda Fair Four Cylinders.

After the completion of racing on Friday, the band Chasing Neon will perform in the Entertainment Building on the fairgrounds.

Saturday (Sept. 18) serves as the highlight of the weekend with the running of the Fonda 200. Leading up to the 200 will be STSS Modified B-Mains and the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman running a Precision Hydraulic & Oil North Region event.

Sunday (Sept. 19) is reserved as a rain date.

A complete Fonda 200 information center has been established on the Fonda Speedway website at the following link: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/fonda-200/

The event will be broadcast live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv) as part of the annual subscription.

Since 1953, the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing. Under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway will operate weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at www.thefondaspeedway.com.  To learn more, call the office at 518.915.4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook www.facebook.com/thefondaspeedwy or follow the speedway on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy.

To learn more about the Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit www.shorttracksuperseries.com, e-mail bdmotorsportsmedia@gmail.com, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, FloRacing, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Hurlock Auto & Speed, Velocita-USA, Design for Vision/Sunglass Central, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Penske Racing Shocks, Danny’s Pizza Pizzazz, Algonkin Motel, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, Belmont’s Garage, Superior Remodeling, Spyder High Performance Filters, Fastline Performance, Teo-Pro Car, VAHLCO, WELD Racing & Wilwood.

Fonda 200 History of Winners

1955: Junior Johnson (NASCAR Grand National)
1963: Steve Danish
1964: Bill Wimble
1966: David Pearson (NASCAR Grand National)
1967: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)
1968: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)
1969: Lou Lazzaro
1970: Harry Peek
1983: Charlie Rudolph
1984: Jimmy Horton
1985: Charlie Rudolph
1986: Jack Johnson
1987: Kenny Brightbill
1988: Jack Johnson
1989: Mike Romano
1990: Doug Hoffman
1991: Doug Hoffman
1992: Bob McCreadie
1993: Bob McCreadie
1994: Jimmy Horton
1995: Brett Hearn
1997: Brett Hearn
1998: Brett Hearn
1999: Steve Paine
2000: Kenny Tremont
2001: Doug Hoffman
2002: Brett Hearn
2019: Stewart Friesen