By: Ron Szczerba

Fonda, NY – On Saturday, July 11 at the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway, Sampson Motorcar and Yellow Transportation present a racing card headlined by the 15th Annual “Hondo Classic” for the Algonkin Pro Stocks paying a minimum of $1,000 to win!

The Hondo Classic is named for Hondo Carpenter, a popular competitor in the Pro Stock division at the Fonda Speedway who lost his life in an ATV accident on July 4, 2005. Each year dozens of supporters of this event contribute to the bonus money that is awarded along with the track purse. According to the competitors, the money is always welcome but the big draw to the event is the bragging rights.

The First Annual Hondo Classic was won by Jim Burton in 2006. Nick Stone is a four-time winner of the event in 2007, 2008, 2016, & 2017 while Kenny Gates is a three-time winner of the event in 2009, 2015, & 2018. Pete Broderson has won the event twice in 2012 and 2014 while Chip Smith (2010), Rob Yetman (2011), Kenny Martin, Jr (2013) and Josh Coonradt (2019) each have one win in the event along with Burton.

Also, on the racing card will be the Sunoco Modifieds, the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman, the Montgomery County Office for Aging Limited Sportsman, the Roberts Towing & Recovery Street Stocks, and the Four Cylinder Cruisers.

The Infield Drive-In will be open on Saturday, July 11 ($60, first-come, first-served, includes four limited participant passes) or you can watch all the action on Dirt Track Digest TV pay per view.

*The Grandstands will be closed for this event!

Pit Gate admission is: $30.00 for Fonda Members and $35.00 for Fonda Non-Members.

Gates will open at 4:00 p.m. with hot laps at 6:20 p.m. and racing at 7:00 p.m.


Five years ago, on 7/11/2015 the winners at Fonda were Bobby Varin (Modified), Mark Mortensen (Crate 602 Sportsman), Kenny Gates (Pro Stock), Johnny Young (Street Stock), Ken Hollenback (Four Cylinder Cruisers).

Ten years ago, on 7/10/2010 the winners at Fonda were Ryan Odasz (Modified), Luke Munroe (Open Sportsman), Chip Smith (Hondo Classic for Pro Stocks), Chuck McSpirit (Street Stock), George Catanzano (IMCA), Jeremiah Munson (Crate 602 Sportsman).

Fifteen years ago, on 7/9/2005 the winners at Fonda were Butchie Irwin (Pro Stock), Rocky Warner (Street Stock), George Catanzano (IMCA), and Jeff Richards (Northeastern Vintage Dirt Modifieds). The Modified and Open Sportsman events were both rain delayed.

Twenty years ago on 7/8/2000 the winners at Fonda were Dave Lape (Modified), Mike Frasier (Open Sportsman), Rob Noviczski (Pro Stock), Rob VanAernam (Street Stock “A”), Dave Horning Jr. (Street Stock “B”)< George Catanzano (IMCA), and Laurie Fallis (Powder Puff).

Since 1953, the ‘Track of Champions’ Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing. Under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway will operate weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at To learn more, call the office at 518.915.4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook or follow on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy.