Time to Celebrate: Fonda Speedway Awards Banquet Set for Saturday, December 7

FONDA, NY – After a season of resurgence at Fonda Speedway, it’s time to celebrate.

Top performers from the ‘Track of Champions’ will be honored on Saturday, December 7 at the Fonda Speedway Awards Banquet hosted at Treviso by Mallozzi’s in Albany, N.Y. This will mark the first year-end celebration under the BD Motorsports Media LLC promotion of the hallowed half-mile track.

The top-10 drivers in the Sunoco Modified, Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman and Algonkin Motel Pro Stock divisions will be recognized, in addition to the top-five finishers in the Montgomery County Office for Aging Limited Sportsman, Trackside Body Works Street Stocks and Four Cylinders.

Other special awards will be distributed during the evening as well.

Rocky Warner of Gloversville, N.Y., drove the Jake Spraker-owned No. 1J to the Sunoco Modified divisional championship for the first time in his career. Warner was trailed by Bobby Varin, Danny Varin, Stewart Friesen, Dave Constantino, David Schilling, Craig Hanson, Brian Gleason, Josh Hohenforst and Michael Maresca.

Niskayuna, N.Y., native Tim Hartman Jr. called Fonda Speedway home for 2019 very successfully, taking the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman title. Adam McAuliffe, Chad Edwards, Brian Calabrese, Mark Mortensen, Cody Clark, JaMike Sowle, Tony Farone, Andrew Buff and Brian Borst.

‘Cousin Luke’ Horning of Gloversville, N.Y., put together a breakout season in the Algonkin Motel Pro Stock division and took the championship with Nick Stone, Josh Coonradt, Kenny Gates, Chuck Dumblewski, Justin Knight, Jason Morrison, Ivan Joslin, Bill Knapp and Randy Cosselman in tow.

The Montgomery County Office for Aging Limited Sportsman high point man was E.J. McAuliffe of Broadalbin, N.Y., defeating Rich Christman, Brett Mortensen, John Young and a tie between Steve Wagoner and Alan Hanson.

Jason Samrov was the Trackside Body Works Street Stock champion over Michael Arnold, Cliff Haslun, Dave Horning Sr. and Stephen Young.

Ken Hollenbeck continued his longstanding dominance of the Fonda Four Cylinder Cruiser ranks, taking top honors with Cole Lawton, John Napoli, T.J. Marlitt and Wayne Russell completing the front five.

Doors open for the Fonda Speedway Awards Banquet at 6 p.m. with cocktail hour.  Tickets include a buffet dinner featuring sliced sirloin and chicken parmesan, sides, dessert, soda, coffee and tea. A cash bar will be available.

Tickets are on sale for $39 each and should be reserved prior to November 15.

The ticket order form follows: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2019AwardsBanquetOrderForm.pdf

Treviso by Mallozzi’s is located at 257 Washington Avenue Extension Albany, NY 12205.

The Tru by Hilton Albany Crossgates Mall is the host hotel for the event. A shuttle will run from the Banquet Hall to the hotel for attendees. The Tru by Hilton is located at 1651 Western Avenue Albany, NY 12203. Call 518.704.4010 and mention Fonda Speedway for the $119 special rate.

The special rate block will be closed on November 9.

A direct reservation link follows: https://secure3.hilton.com/en_US/ru/reservation/book.htm?execution=e1s1

Since 1953, the ‘Track of Champions’ Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing. Now under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway will operate weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at www.thefondaspeedway.com. To learn more, call the office at 518.915.4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook www.facebook.com/thefondaspdwy or follow on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy.