$125,675 Minimum Main Event Purse Set for Return of Fonda 200 September 26-28

FONDA, NY – Over the long and storied history of Fonda Speedway, this one will stand out.

The Fonda 200 returns to the Track of Champions Thursday-Saturday Sept. 26-28 with the largest purse structure ever offered at the half-mile track located just off New York State Thruway Exit 28.

$125,675, at minimum, will be distributed to Sunoco big-block/small-block Modified competitors in the 200-lap event.

Of course, the much-talked-about $53,000 top prize has been the buzz of the Modified community since its announcement in January. But the payout through the event’s starting field is lucrative, as well.

At the end of 200 laps, the winner will receive the aforementioned $53,000-plus. Second-place takes home $20,000, followed by $10,000 for third, $7,000 for fourth and $4,000 for fifth.

The remainder of the top-10 pays as follows: sixth – $3,000; seventh – $2,500; eighth – $2,250; ninth – $2,000; and 10th – $1,750.

15th-place in this event offers $1,000, with $600 reserved to take the green.

All non-qualifiers starting a B-Main will leave with at least $100.

The Fonda 200 was run most recently in 2002 with Brett Hearn taking the victory. The very first 200 was contested in 1955.

Rules and Race Procedures for the 200 have been posted at the following link: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Fonda200RulesandProcedures.pdf

The Registration Form for Modifieds can be found here. Teams can save $50 on registration if entered by Sept. 7: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Fonda200ModifiedEntryForm.pdf

Complete Fonda 200 payout information is on the following link: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Fonda200Payout.pdf

Thursday (Sept. 26) is reserved for camper and trailer parking in addition to open practice for those seeking lap time on the famed Track of Champions layout.

Friday (Sept. 27) will include 15-lap qualifying races for the Sunoco Modifieds, the Patriot Sprint Tour with a full program plus a make-up feature event postponed by rain on May 25, Pro Stocks competing for $1,000 to win, Trackside Body Works Street Stocks in a $500-to-win event and Four Cylinder Cruisers.

Saturday (Sept. 28) will be reserved for Modified Last Chance Qualifiers (15 laps each), Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman ($1,500 to win) and the 200 finale.

Reserved grandstand tickets are available now and can be obtained by calling the speedway office at 518.915.4395 and leaving a message for Angela Hanson. Office hours for walk-up sales are posted on the speedway Facebook page as well.

A Fonda 200 information page can be found on the speedway website: https://www.thefondaspeedway.com/fonda-200/

Since 1953, the ‘Track of Champions’ Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing. Now under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway will operate weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at www.thefondaspeedway.com. To learn more, call the office at 518.915.4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook www.facebook.com/thefondaspdwy or follow on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy.

Fonda 200 History of Winners

1955: Junior Johnson (NASCAR Grand National)
1963: Steve Danish
1964: Bill Wimble
1966: David Pearson (NASCAR Grand National)
1967: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)
1968: Richard Petty (NASCAR Grand National)
1969: Lou Lazzaro
1970: Harry Peek
1983: Charlie Rudolph
1984: Jimmy Horton
1985: Charlie Rudolph
1986: Jack Johnson
1987: Kenny Brightbill
1988: Jack Johnson
1989: Mike Romano
1990: Doug Hoffman
1991: Doug Hoffman
1992: Bob McCreadie
1993: Bob McCreadie
1994: Jimmy Horton
1995: Brett Hearn
1997: Brett Hearn
1998: Brett Hearn
1999: Steve Paine
2000: Kenny Tremont
2001: Doug Hoffman
2002: Brett Hearn
2019: ???