FONDA, NY – The season of special events and resurgence of the legendary “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway continues on Wednesday, July 3 as the inaugural Fuccillo Automotive Group “Firecracker 50” presented by Teo-Pro car takes to the Montgomery County Fairgrounds ½ mile track.

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled by Sunoco makes its debut at the “Track of Champions” in the fifth Halmar International North Region event of the 2019 season.

The ‘Firecracker 50’ boasts a robust $32,770 minimum pay structure including $10,000 to win, $1,000 for 10th and $400 to take the green flag.  The complete breakdown follows: 1) $10,000; 2) $4,000; 3) $3,000; 4) $2,000; 5) $1,500; 6) $1,150; 7) $1,125; 8) $1,100; 9) $1,050; 10) $1,000; 11) $750; 12) $650; 13) $550; 14) $450; 15) $425; 16) $415; 17) $405; 18-24) $400; Provisionals) $200.

Through the efforts of John Lakata, all 50 laps have been sold at a minimum of $100 each for a total lap money distribution of $5,005.  This lap money will be handed out through the field from drivers running first to last, meaning more competitors will benefit. Lakata also created and built a special trophy for the event that will be treasured by the race winner!

Additional bonuses will be paid out for the event by the following people and/or companies:

Superior Remodeling of Slate Hill, N.Y., will present a Halfway Leader Bonus of $200 cash in addition to the lap money.

All STSS Modified heat winners take home $100 cash from Rob Sherlock Roofing located in Wurtsboro, N.Y.

The driver passing the most cars overall in heat-race competition receives $125 from MJK Home Maintenance in Middletown, N.Y.

John Grant Racing Engines has posted a $100 cash Hard Charger Award for the main event.

Fonda Speedway’s top representative in the 50-lap main takes home $100 courtesy of the 178th Fonda Fair and the Fonda Fair Board.

Timco Transportation will reward the two drivers unable to qualify with the longest haul to the speedway with $150 each.

The highest-finishing driver in the first heat race not transferring to the main takes home $200 cash from James Osterhoudt.

The two top finishers from consolations unable to qualify will receive $100 each, also from Timco Transportation.

The cash payout alone for this 50-lap event totals $39,200.

The $39,000-plus total does not include product awards and certificates from the following companies: American Racer/Lias Tire, ATL Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, EIBACH Springs, Henry’s Exhaust System, Racing Optics, Sunoco Race Fuels/Insinger Performance, WELD Wheels and Wilwood.

In the history of 50 lap events or longer at Fonda, there have been a total of 68 different winning drivers in a total of 278 modified (both big and small block) feature events from 1953-2018.

They include Lou Lazzaro who leads the way with 32 victories followed by Jack Johnson with 29; Brett Hearn with 21, Dave Lape with 20; Mike Romano with 11; C.D. Coville with 10; Ken Shoemaker and  Alan Johnson with nine, Jimmy Horton, Danny Johnson, Doug Hoffman, Bobby Varin, and Stewart Friesen with eight; Steve Danish, and Bill Wimble with six; Pete Corey and Rene Charland with five; Harry Peek, Bob McCreadie, and Pat Ward with four; Jeep Herbert and Matt DeLorenzo with three; Ed Ortiz, Jerry Cook, Will Cagle, Gary Balough,, Charlie Rudolph, Billy Pauch, Kevin Collins, Tim McCreadie, Billy Decker, Matt Sheppard, and Mike Mahaney all with two wins apiece.

Drivers with one feature win in events 50-laps or longer include George Gallup, Jim Luke, Don Hendenberg, Irv Taylor, Cliff Kotary, Tom Kotary, Buck Holliday, Ernie Gahan, Ron Narducci, Jerry Pennock, Lee Millington, Maynard Forrette, Buzzie Reutimann, Ralph Holmes, Dave Pelczar, Dave Buanno, Jim Winks, Wayne Reutimann, Pep Pepicelli, Tom Wilson, Tim Dwyer, Kenny Brightbill, AJ Romano, Jeff Trombley, Steve Paine, Kenny Tremont Jr., Mitch Gibbs, Tony Pepicelli, Bob Savoie, Larry Wight, Craig Hanson, Ronnie Johnson, Jimmy Phelps, Justin Boehler, and Tim Fuller.

Crate 602 Sportsman have not been forgotten in this open-wheel doubleheader. The 25-lap STSS North Region event is offering an unprecedented $2,000 to win and $1,000 for second!

Additionally, the event will be recorded for national broadcast on MAV-TV with a targeted broadcast date in September.

Complete ‘Firecracker 50’ race information can be found on the STSS website on the following link:

Fonda Speedway is located at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068. To learn more, contact the speedway office at 518.915.4395 or visit the official website at:

To learn more about the 2019 Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit   e-mail, by e-mail at, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.